Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Franklin R. Weissberg Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: circa 1968



Biographical History

Franklin R. Weissberg (1931- ) is a New York attorney, litigator, and judge.

Born in New York City, Weissberg attended Bronx High School of Science and graduated from Syracuse University with an A.B. degree in 1952. In 1954-1955 he was on active duty as a corporal with the U.S. Army Artillery in Germany. He received an LLB degree from Harvard Law School in 1957, and from 1960 to 1961 served as law secretary to Supreme Court Justice Edgar J. Nathan, Jr. of New York County.

Early in his career Weissberg practiced law in New York City with the firm of Colton, Fernbach and Weissberg; later he was a member of the Temporary State Commission on the Cultural Resources of the State (1972-1973), President of the Association of Court of Claims Judges of the State of New York (1992-1999), Acting Justice of the Supreme Court, New York County (1986-2001), and Judge for the New York State Court of Claims (1986-2001). He is presently (2009) of counsel for the firm of Lowenstein Sandler PC.

Weissberg's activities in the Republican Party include serving as district leader of the 66th Assembly District of the New York Republican organization and as Mayor John V. Lindsay's Special Consultant for the Performing Arts. He was an elected delegate to the 1967 New York State Constitutional Convention from the 26th District, and served on the Committee on the Executive Branch and the Committee on the Legislature.

He is a member of the New York State Bar Association, the New York County Lawyers Association, and the Association of Court of Claims Judges of the State of New York. He has also lectured on litigation matters at numerous seminars and law institutes.

[Portions of this biographical sketch obtained from Weissberg's profile on the Lowenstein Sandler PC website, http://www.lowenstein.com/fweissberg/.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Franklin R. Weissberg Papers consist of correspondence, memorabilia, writings, New York State Constitutional Convention issues and committee materials, and miscellaneous printed material.

The Correspondence is with constituents, Constitutional Convention delegates, lawyers, statesmen, politicians and friends, and relates to convention and convention committee business. Issues discussed include taxes (especially real estate taxes and their possible effects in New York City), natural resources, judicial appointments, the Blaine Amendment, welfare, the grand jury system, and education. Outgoing letters contain definite and positive opinions. Significant correspondents include Vincent J. Albano, the American Bar Association, Earl W. Brydges, James F. Carroll, Paul Fino, S. William Green, Roswell B. Perkins, J. Irwin Shapiro and Robert Sweet.

Memorabilia consists of biographical material.

Writings include letters to the editor, a speech, statements and a television interview.

New York State Constitutional Convention issues and committee material consist of committee minutes, reproduced typescripts and printed copies of propositions, reports, statements, reproductions of typescript memoranda, position papers and a small number of holograph notes. The Bill of Rights folder contains typescript notes of a telephone conversation between Weissberg and Arnold G. Fraiman on wire tapping.

Miscellaneous printed material includes reports, periodicals and pamphlets on subjects of interest to the 1967 New York State Constitutional Convention. It is arranged alphabetically by author or originating agency.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Writings are arramged alphabetically by type. Constitutional convention material is arranged alphabetically by topic. Printed material is arranged alphabetically by author.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

For additional material relating to the 1967 New York State Constitutional Convention, see also the Erastus Corning II Papers and the Leonard B. Sand Papers


Subject Headings

Persons

Weissberg, Franklin R.

Corporate Bodies

New York (State). -- Constitutional Convention (1967)

Subjects

Constitutional conventions -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State) -- Politics and government, 1951-

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Minutes.
Reports.
Speeches.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Franklin R. Weissberg Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Franklin R. Weissberg, 1968.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Writings

1967 New York State Constitutional Convention

Miscellaneous printed material


Inventory