Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Frederick A. Weiss Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Jan 1978

Revision history:
10 Dec 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Weiss, Frederick A.
Title: Frederick A. Weiss Papers
Dates: 1926-1963
Quantity: 3.5 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of the American psychologist and author. Collection includes reprints of articles, notes, and typescripts; most articles appeared in the American Journal of Psychoanalysis.
Language: Most in English, a few items in German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frederick A. Weiss was an American psychologist and author. Among other things he wrote several essays on German psychoanalyst Karen Horney.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frederick A. Weiss Papers consists entirely of writings by Weiss, including reprints of journal articles, lectures, and papers by Dr. Weiss. There are also two published volumes and a few handwritten notes.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by title of the publication in which it appeared, and within that chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Weiss, Frederick A.

Subjects

Psychoanalysis.
Psychoanalysts -- United States.
Psychologists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Lectures.
Notes.
Papers (document genres)
Reprints.

Occupations

Psychoanalysts.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederick A. Weiss Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Frederick A. Weiss, 1967, 1971.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Reprints
American Journal of Psychiatry
Box 1 Volume VI 1946
Box 1 Volume X 1950 (7 folders)
Box 1 Volume XII 1952 (4 folders)
Box 1 Volume XIV 1954 (3 folders)
Box 1 Volume XVI 1956 ( folders)
Box 1 Volume XVII 1957 (1 folders)
Box 2 Volume XVII 1957 (5 folders)
Box 2 Volume XVIII 1958 (6 folders)
Box 2 Volume XIX 1959 (3 folders)
Box 2 Volume XX 1960 (1 folders)
Box 3 Volume XX 1960 (2 folders)
Box 3 Volume XXI 1961 (4 folders)
Box 3 Volume XXII undated ( folders)
Box 3 Volume XXIII undated ( folders)
Box 3 Volume XXIV undated (3 folders)
Box 3 Volume XXV undated (2 folders)
Box 3 Volume XXVI undated (3 folders)
Box 4 Volume XXVI undated (2 folders)
Box 4 Association for the Advancement of Psychoanalysis 1948
Box 4 Science and Psychoanalysis 1963
Box 4 The Woman 1942
Box 4 Various lectures and papers 1947-1961
Magazines
Box 5 Folia Medici 1935-1938
Notes
Box 5 Miscellaneous notes and typescripts 1960
Books
Box 5 Almanach 1926
Box 5 Almanach der Psychoanalyse 1932