Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Gardner B. Weeks Scrapbook

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Weeks, Gardner B.
Title: Gardner B. Weeks Scrapbook
Dates: 1881-1886
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Syracuse (New York) businessman. Scrapbook (news clippings, letters, programs, brochures, prospectuses, circulars, more) relating to Weeks' business and to the Weeks family in general.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gardner B. Weeks (d. 1886) was an American businessman. He was intensely active in agricultural matters in Central New York, including serving as Secretary of the American Dairymen's Association. He was involved in mining and smelting businesses and was apparently the owner of a Syracuse, New York company that manufactured hay forks, railway conveyors and other items.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gardner B. Weeks Scrapbook consists of a large scrapbook containing prospectuses, circulars, trade catalogs, broadsides, samples of printed ephemera, and news clippings. There are also foreign queries, testimonials, and two letters from W.E. Dodge and Russell Sturgis. Interspersed are personal items such as concert programs, a Central City bank note, letters and drawings from family and friends, and more.

Companies with which Weeks was involved, and which are represented in the scrapbook, include the Pendery Mining Co. of Syracuse and Little Falls, the Syracuse & Dumont Consolidated Mining Company, Fisher & Millis Hills Mining & Smelting Co. (with mine in North Carolina), Grappling Hay Forks and Railway Conveyors, and Weeks, Thompson & Co. Road Carts.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Weeks, Gardner B.

Corporate Bodies

Fisher & Millis Hills Mining & Smelting Co.
Pendery Mining Co.
Syracuse & Dumont Consolidated Mining Co.

Subjects

Agricultural machinery.
Dairy plants -- Equipment and supplies.
Haying equipment.
Mining corporations.

Places

New York (State) -- History.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Memorabilia.
Programs (documents)
Prospectuses.
Scrapbooks.
Trade catalogs.

Occupations

Businessmen.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gardner B. Weeks Scrapbook,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1984.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 640 Scrapbook 1881-1886