Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Arthur Wechsler Jewelry Designs

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2013

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wechsler, Arthur.
Title: Arthur Wechsler Jewelry Designs
Dates: 1940s-1960s
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Original pencil sketches for rings, brooches, pendants, watches, earrings, etc.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

"Arthur Wechsler was an independent jewelry designer in Manhattan during the 1940's, 1950's and 1960's. His clients were individuals, jewelry houses, watch manufacturers and perhaps others. His "product" was a life-size image of each piece drawn with color pencil to indicate metals, stones, pearls etc. Because Arthur neither made nor delivered the objects produced from these drawings, it is doubtful that any of the pieces eventually produced from his designs carried his signature." [Information obtained from donor; not independently verified.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Arthur Wechsler Jewelry Designs consists of five volumes of sketches and more than a thousand individual drawings for a wide range of jewelry, including rings, brooches, pendants, watches and earrings. Pages have been removed from the four three-ring binders (one set of pages did not come with its binder); the original binders are in Box 2. The titles in the inventory below are given exactly as written on the binders.


Arrangement of the Collection

Original order was maintained. Identification numbers have been assigned to all items.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wechsler, Arthur.

Subjects

Brooches -- Design and construction.
Clocks and watches -- Design and construction.
Earrings -- Design and construction.
Jewelry -- Design -- 20th century.
Jewelry settings.
Pendants (Jewelry) -- Design and construction.

Genres and Forms

Sketches.

Occupations

Jeweler.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Arthur Wechsler Jewelry Designs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Barry Gordon, 2013.


Table of Contents

Artwork


Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

The entire collection has been digitized. Please visit SCRC Online, our digital portal to view.

Artwork
Note on alternate formats: The entire collection has been digitized. Please visit SCRC Online, our digital portal to view.
Box 2 Bracelets, necklaces, snaps, pendants - original three-ring binder (ID#: wechsler_0001)
Box 1 Bracelets, necklaces, snaps, pendants - drawings (ID#: wechsler_0001a through 0001xxx)
Box 1 Clips and brooches - drawings (ID#: wechsler_0002a through 0002jjj)
These pages were received without the original binder
Box 2 Earrings - original three-ring binder (ID#: wechsler_0003)
Box 1 Earrings - drawings (ID#: wechsler_0003a through jjj)
Box 2 Rings - original three-ring binder (ID#: wechsler_0004)
Box 1 Rings - drawings (ID#: wechsler_0004a through 0004ooo)
Box 2 Watches - original three-ring binder (ID#: wechsler_0005)
Box 1 Watches - drawings (ID#: wechsler_0005a through 0005rrr)
Box 3 [loose drawings] - rings, pendants, brooches, monograms, etc. (ID#: wechsler_0006 through 1227)