Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Noah Webster Agreement

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Webster, Noah, 1758-1843.
Title: Noah Webster Agreement
Dates: 1836
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: American lexicographer and author. Collection consists of a legal agreement, signed by Webster, regarding the printing of his History of the United States.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Noah Webster (1758-1843) was an American lexicographer, author and editor. He is best known for his spellers (early spelling textbooks) and his dictionaries, published in 1806 and 1828.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Noah Webster Agreement consists of a single item, a legal agreement bearing Webster's signature. The agreement authorizes one Sidney Babcock to print one thousand copies of Webster's History of the United States.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Webster, Noah, 1758-1843 -- History of the United States.

Subjects

Authors, American -- 19th century.
Publishers and publishing -- United States

Genres and Forms

Agreements.
Legal documents.

Occupations

Authors.
Editors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Noah Webster Agreement,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1970.


Table of Contents

Legal documents


Inventory

Legal documents
SC 634 Agreement regarding publication of Webster's History of the United States 13 Aug 1836