Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jacob Weber Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Weber, Jacob, fl. 1770-1795.
Title: Jacob Weber Correspondence
Dates: 1770-1889
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters to and from Weber and several other men, relating to family and business affairs in Canajoharie and German Flatts, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the men whose names appear on the letters in this collection. Locations given in the letters' dates suggest that they lived in Central New York; the towns of Canajoharie and German Flatts are mentioned. Surnames include Weber, Weaver and Wright.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jacob Weber Correspondence consists of xerox copies of letters from Jacob Weber and several other men. Other names include Michael Cole, Robert Cole, Peter Weaver, Henry Weber, Jacob Weber, Nicolas Webber or Weber, and Joseph Paine. The last dated item (1889) concerns the purchase of the Marcy Center Cheese Factory in Oneida County, New York, by a George Wright.

The collection consists entirely of xerox copies; there is no original material.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological, with undated items last.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The originals of the correspondence are in the possession of Utica College.


Subject Headings

Persons

Weber, Jacob, fl. 1770-1795.

Corporate Bodies

Marcy Center Cheese Factory.

Places

Canajoharie (N.Y.) -- History.
German Flats (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photocopies.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jacob Weber Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Utica College, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 628 Miscellaneous 1770-1889