Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Theodore Watts-Dunton Letters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Watts-Dunton, Theodore, 1832-1914.
Title: Theodore Watts-Dunton Letters
Dates: 1884-1912
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: British poet and critic. Four letters, one to William Michael Rossetti and three to Appleton and Co.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Theodore Watts-Dunton (1832-1914) was an English critic and poet. He was close friends with English poets Alfred Lord Tennyson, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, and Algernon Charles Swinburne.

William Michael Rossetti (1829-1919) was an English writer and critic, brother to poets Christina and Dante Gabriel Rossetti, and a founding member of the group known as the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Theodore Watts-Dunton Letters consists of four letters dated from his home "The Pines." The letter to William Michael Rossetti, on mourning paper, inquires about a sale of Dante Gabriel Rossetti's picture "Brimful," and sends thanks for note on Dante. The letters to Appleton & Co. discuss the possibility of a biography of Swinburne. Only the first, signed "Watts," is in Watts-Dunton's hand, the others were written for him by his secretary.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Rossetti, William Michael, 1829-1919.
Watts-Dunton, Theodore, 1832-1914.

Corporate Bodies

John Appleton & Co.

Subjects

Authors, English -- 19th century.
Poets, English -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Theodore Watts-Dunton Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1970.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 627 William Michael Rossetti, Appleton & Co. 1884, 1909, 1911-1912