Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Henry Watterson Letters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Watterson, Henry, 1840-1921.
Title: Henry Watterson Letters
Dates: 1904-1906
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: American journalist, lecturer and author. Letters from Watterson to author Albert Bigelow Paine.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Henry Watterson (1840-1921) was an American journalist, lecturer and author. He was a Confederate soldier under Nathan Bedford Forrest, a one-term United States Representative from Kentucky, and founder and editor of the Louisville Courier-Journal.

Albert Bigelow Paine (1861-1937) was an American author, and biographer and literary executor of Mark Twain.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry Watterson Letters consists of three letters from Watterson to Albert Bigelow Paine. Two are handwritten in somewhat difficult script; the third is typed. All three are friendly and informal in tone and relate to various personal matters.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Paine, Albert Bigelow, 1861-1937.
Watterson, Henry, 1840-1921.

Corporate Bodies

Courier-journal (Louisville, Ky.)

Subjects

Journalists -- United States.
Newspaper editors -- Kentucky.
Newspaper editors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Journalists.
Newspaper editors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry Watterson Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 626 Paine, Albert Bigelow 1904, 1906