Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Dudley Crafts Watson Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CMV
Date: 9 Nov 1978

Revision history:
11 May 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)
4 May 2017 film descriptions updated (PJM)
30 Aug 2017 film ephemera added (PJM)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Watson, Dudley Crafts, 1885-
Title: Dudley Crafts Watson Papers
Dates: 1909-1970
Quantity: 5.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American painter, art critic, lecturer. Collection contains correspondence (1913-1965); sketches, photographs of artwork; exhibition catalogs and invitations; articles and other writings; clippings; 37 films of art from 69 countries which Watson used in his lectures.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Dudley Crafts Watson (1885-1972) was an artist known for his floral and marine landscapes. He was also an art teacher, and conducted tours of different areas of the world. He studied and later taught at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Dudley Crafts Watson Papers spans Watson's entire career as artist, teacher, lecturer and art tour guide. The collection contains awards, biographical data, books, correspondence, films, newspaper clippings, photographs, published material, sketches, writings and miscellaneous.

Published material includes brochures from several of Watson's tours, and the extensive film collection deals entirely with these travels, with each title giving the location(s) of a specific tour.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence and clippings are arranged chronologically. All other series are arranged alphabetically by title, type or topic.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Watson, Dudley Crafts, 1885-

Corporate Bodies

Delphian Society.

Subjects

Art critics -- United States.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

16mm.
Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Film reels.
Motion pictures (visual works)
Photographs.
Sketches.

Occupations

Art critics.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Dudley Crafts Watson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Dudley Crafts Watson, 1965-1966.


Table of Contents

Awards

Biographical data

Books

Correspondence

Films

Newspaper clippings

Photographs

Published material

Sketches

Writings

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Films and associated notes/ephemera have been digitized and are available via SCRC Online, our digital portal.

Awards
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1941, 1959, undated
Biographical data
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Books
Box 1 Delphian Text Part Four and Delphian Text Part Five, The Delphian Society, Chicago, Ill. 1930 (2 volumes)
Correspondence
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1913-1965, undated
Films
Film notes and pamphlets
Box 3 Film notes (31 folders)
Many of the films included typed notes, either in the canister or attached to the outside. These notes were digitized along with the films. Originals are filed here, foldered separately, according to the ID number of the film they go with. All films have associated notes except the following: 0009, 0012, 0013, 0030.
Box 3 "Additional lecture subjects" 1963 - thermofax copy of typed list of topics
Box 3 Lecture pamphlets - printed pamphlets advertising Watson's lectures
Africa (A) [alternate title: African Safari; Darkest Africa] Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0001)
Africa (B) [alternate title: African Safari; Darkest Africa] Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0002)
And So We Went to Russia [alternate title: Art and Life of Russia] Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0003)
Around the Caribbean (A) Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0004)
Around the Caribbean (B) Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0005)
Belgium [alternate title: Memories of Brussels Fair] 1959 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0006)
Canada (A) [alternate title: Our Neighbor Canada] Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0007)
Canada (B) [alternate title: Our Neighbor Canada] Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0008)
Donald’s Mexico 1953 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0009)
Eternal Rome Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0010)
Egypt and the Near East 1957 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0011)
French Chateaux 1948 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0012)
Greece 1955 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0013)
Hawaii [alternate title: Pacific Paradise: Hawaii - State 50] 1964 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0014)
Heart of Spain [alternate title: Dramatic Spain] 1951 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0015)
Holland - Germany [alternate title: Holland-Luxembourg-Belgium] 1959 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0016)
India (B) [alternate title: The Spell of India] 1951 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0017)
Italy Extra [alternate title: Italy - Naples - Hill Towns - Sienna - Florence - Padua] 1955 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0018)
Japan 1964 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0019)
London [alternate title: Majestic London] Sep 1958 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0020)
Mexico - Paracutin [alternate title: Romance and Drama in Mexico] 1962 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0021)
Mexico’s Riches (A) 1948 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0022)
Mexico’s Riches (B) 1948 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0023)
Mexico Sun and Fun [alternate title: Sun and Fun in Mexico; Sun Spots and Fun Spots in Mexico] 1946 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0024)
Norway 1953 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0025)
Pacific Coast [alternate title: Pacific Coast Including San Francisco Fair not edited!] 1947 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0026)
Panama to Guatemala 1944 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0027)
Paris [alternate title: Paris Forever] 1953 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0028)
Paris - T.V. 1953 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0029)
Portugal 1948 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0030)
Rural England - Scotland [alternate title: Rural England and Scotland] 1950 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0031)
Salzburg - Oberammergau [alternate title: Salzburg and Oberammergau; Austria and Western Germany] 1956 - includes lecture notes/scene descriptions Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0032)
South America (A) [alternate title: South American Journey; South American Adventure] 1965 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0033)
South America (B) [alternate title: South American Journey; South American Adventure] 1956 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0034)
Sweden and Her Neighbors 1954 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0035)
Switzerland [alternate title: Switzerland - The Top of Europe] 1963 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0036)
Venice 1950 Film: 16mm (ID#: watson_dc_0037)
Newspaper clippings
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1934-1970, undated
Photographs
Box 1 Artwork
Box 1 Personal
Box 1 Travel
Published material
Box 1 Exhibition brochures 1909-1968, undated
Box 1 Invitations 1910-1963, undated
Box 1 Magazine clippings
Box 1 Programs 1912-1966, undated
Box 2 Travel 1914-1960, undated
Sketches
Box 2 Miscellaneous 1916-1936
Writings
Box 2 Address, "Art in Industry"
Box 2 Articles
Box 2 Panphlet on interior decoration
Box 2 Television script
Miscellaneous
Box 2 Assorted items