Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Washington Benevolent Society Membership Certificate

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Washington Benevolent Society (Newburyport, Mass.)
Title: Washington Benevolent Society Membership Certificate
Dates: circa 1815
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Membership certificate in the Newburyport Washington Benevolent Society, in the name of a Frederick Page and signed by chapter president W.B. Banister.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Washington Benevolent Societies (1810-1816) were local political clubs organized by the Federalist Party. There were branches in many cities, primarily in the northeastern part of the United States.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Washington Benevolent Society Membership Certificate consists of one item, a membership certificate for the Newburyport Washington Benevolent Society, in the name of a Frederick Page. The certificate is signed by chapter president W.B. Banister and Recording Secretary John R.[?] Hudson.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

For more information on the Washington Benevolent Society, including its constitution, see The constitution of the Washington Benevolent Society, of the county of Cayuga... available in our Rare Books holdings, call number New York Z236.A89 P11 1813cons. Both the circulating collection and Rare Books have other WBS-related material; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate other relevant items.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Washington Benevolent Society (Newburyport, Mass.)

Subjects

Political clubs -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Membership certificates.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Washington Benevolent Society Membership Certificate,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Mayfield, 1992.


Table of Contents

Membership material


Inventory

Membership material
SC 647 Membership certificate circa 1815