Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Theophilus Ware Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 12 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ware, Theophilus.
Title: Theophilus Ware Letter
Dates: 1825
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from Theophilus Ware of Philadelphia, to vice president John C. Calhoun, announcing himself as Supreme Judge of the Universe.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of Theophilus Ware other than the information given in the letter. He evidently hailed from Philadelphia and was, at least at the time of writing this, of unsound mind.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Theophilus Ware Letter consists of a letter from Theophilus Ware of Philadelphia, to vice president John C. Calhoun. In the letter Ware announces himself as Supreme Judge of the Universe and invites Calhoun to call upon him at his earliest convenience.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Calhoun, John C. (John Caldwell), 1782-1850.
Ware, Theophilus.

Subjects

Mentally ill -- Correspondence.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Theophilus Ware Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 622 Calhoun, John C. 1825