Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Robert J. Walker Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 12 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Walker, Robert J. (Robert John), 1801-1869.
Title: Robert J. Walker Correspondence
Dates: 1845-1849
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: American economist and statesman, Secretary of the Treasury. Incoming correspondence concerning customs, duties, and other matters. Two letters relate to incidents stemming from Texas' recent admission into the Union.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert John Walker (1801-1869) was an American economist and statesman. He was a United States Senator from Mississippi (1835-1845) and Secretary of the Treasury under President Polk, from 1845-1849.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert J. Walker Correspondence consists of incoming correspondence concerning customs, duties, and other matters. Two letters (1846) relate to incidents stemming from Texas' recent admission into the Union.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Walker, Robert J. (Robert John), 1801-1869.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Department of the Treasury. -- Office of the Secretary.

Subjects

Customs administration -- Texas.
Customs administration -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert J. Walker Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 624 Incoming, miscellaneous 1845-1849