Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Richard H. Walker Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Walker, Richard H.
Title: Richard H. Walker Correspondence
Dates: 1858-1892 (bulk: 1862-1869)
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Letters from Richard H. Walker, assistant surgeon with the 6th Tennessee Volunteers; most are to his wife, Fannie Walker.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little can be established about Richard H. Walker beyond the information available in the collection. He was likely from Kentucky or Tennessee; letters to his wife are addressed to her in Flemingsburg, Kentucky, and signatures on several letters suggest he was serving with the 6th Tennessee Volunteers. At least one letter is signed "Richard H. Walker, Assistant Surgeon" and muster rolls do show a Richard H. Walker serving as assistant surgeon with the 6th Tennessee Infantry (see the Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System, http://www.itd.nps.gov/cwss/).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard H. Walker Correspondence consists of letters from Richard H. Walker. The bulk are dated between 1862 and 1869, and are addressed to his wife ("Dear Wife..."), Fannie. The letters are written from various locations, primarily in Mississippi (Jackson, Meridian) and Tennessee (Carthage, Murfreesboro, Nashville).


Arrangement of the Collection

Roughly chronological; the letters are sorted by year but within that are in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections of Civil War era letters and documents. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Walker, Fannie.
Walker, Richard H.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army. -- Tennessee Cavalry Regiment, 6th (1862-1865)

Subjects

Medicine, Military -- United States -- History -- 19th century.
Physicians -- United States.

Places

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Medical care.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Physicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard H. Walker Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Abby Harper Bigelow, 1997.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Miscellany


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Walker, Richard H. 1858-1892 (21 folders)
Box 1 Miscellaneous - letters to Fannie from others, assorted envelopes, other material
Miscellany
Box 1 Receipts, bank book, recipes, assorted other items 1863, 1891, undated