Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Walker Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 3 Mar 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Walker, [unknown]
Title: Walker Letter
Dates: 1843
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Manuscript letter concerning a trip from New Hampshire to Palmyra partly on the railroad and partly on the Erie Canal.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known about the author or recipient of this letter other than what can be gleaned from the item itself.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Walker Letter consists of a manuscript letter dated 15 November 1843 from a woman identifed only as "friend Walker" of Palmyra, New York, to Mrs. Frances S. Colony of Keene, New Hampshire, concerning a trip from New Hampshire to Palmyra partly on the railroad and partly on the Erie Canal.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Erie Canal (N.Y.) -- Description and travel.
Railroads -- New York (State) -- 19th century.
Travel -- New York (State)
Travel -- New York (State)

Places

New Hampshire -- Description and travel.
New York (State) -- Description and travel.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Walker Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2014.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 736 Keene, Mrs. Francis H. 1843