Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Harold Blake Walker Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 31 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Walker, Harold Blake.
Title: Harold Blake Walker Papers
Dates: 1959-1966
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: American Presbyterian clergyman. Collection contains manuscripts, memorabilia and published books.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Harold Blake Walker (d. 2002) was an American Presbyterian clergyman and author. He was was the senior pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Evanston, Illinois for many years, and his column, "Living Faith," appeared in the Chicago Tribune and other newspapers from 1954 to 1975.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harold Blake Walker Papers contains manuscripts, memorabilia and published books.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings relating to Presbyterian and Methodist church and clergy. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Walker, Harold Blake.

Corporate Bodies

Presbyterian Church -- Clergy.

Subjects

Christian literature, American.
Clergy as authors -- United States.
Devotional literature, American.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.
Prayers.
Sermons.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harold Blake Walker Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Harold Blake Walker, 1967.


Table of Contents

Books

Memorabilia

Manuscripts


Inventory

Books
Box 1 Harold Blake Walker / Faith for Times of Tension 1962
Box 1 Harold Blake Walker / Prayers to Live By, Chicago, Aspley House circa 1966
Box 1 Harold Blake Walker / Thirty Selected Sermons, reprinted from the Chicago Tribune Magazine circa 1966
Box 1 Harold Blake Walker / To Conquer Loneliness, New York, Harper and Row circa 1966
Box 1 Harold Blake Walker / Venture of Faith: A Guide to Marriage and the Home, New York, Harper Bros. circa 1959
Memorabilia
Box 1 Dedication of the Harold Blake Walker Chapel Youth Building Music Room, First Presbyterian Church, Chicago 3 Jun 1962
Manuscripts
Box 1 To conquer loneliness circa 1966 - typescript