Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Ernest L. Waldorf Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Jan 1992



Biographical History

Ernest L. Waldorf (1876-1943) was an American Methodist bishop. A graduate of Syracuse University (1900 and 1915) he was ordained to the Methodist Episcopal ministry in 1900 and served in churches in New York until 1915, when he was called to the First Church of Cleveland, where he served for five years. In 1920 he was elected bishop; his Wichita area comprised churches in Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas and Louisiana. He was bishop of the Kansas City area for eight years. In 1932, the General Conference transferred him to Chicago where he administered the affairs of one million Methodists in 1400 churches in Illinois and in affiliated Scandinavian churches. He was also a lawyer, holding J.D. degrees from De Pauw University, Kansas Wesleyan, and Albion College.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ernest L. Waldorf Papers contains sermons, clippings, photographs, and other miscellanea. The collection has received minimal processing; the inventory below is a simple box list.


Arrangement of the Collection

Sermons have been collected and alphabetized by title, but other than that there is no particular order to the collection.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Waldorf, Ernest L.

Corporate Bodies

Methodist Episcopal Church -- Bishops.
Methodist Episcopal Church -- Clergy.

Subjects

Bishops -- United States.

Places

Directories.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Memorabilia.
Photographs.
Sermons.
Speeches.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ernest L. Waldorf Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Albert B. Wagner, 1964.


Table of Contents

Box list


Inventory