Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Lillian F. Wakefield Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 29 Sep 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wakefield, Lillian.
Title: Lillian F. Wakefield Papers
Dates: 1882-1967
Quantity: 7 linear ft.
Abstract: Plays, poetry, drawings, handwritten memoirs, Southwestern American artifacts, lesson plans, student works and photos of students
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lillian F. Wakefield (1882-1967) was an elementary teacher in New York and New Jersey during the early 20th century. Educated at the Albany Normal School, she began her teaching career in a one-room schoolhouse in Paris Station, New York. In 1911 she began teaching third grade at the Princeton Elementary School in Princeton, New Jersey; she retired in 1947 after more than thirty-five years in the classroom.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lillian F. Wakefield Papers contains material relating to Wakefield's personal and professional life, including plays, poetry, drawings, handwritten memoirs, lesson plans, student works and photos of students, and artifacts (mainly pottery) collected on her trips to the American Southwest.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Wakefield, Lillian.

Subjects

Education, Elementary.
Elementary school teachers.
Elementary school teaching.
Women -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State)
Southwest, New.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Memoirs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Teachers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lillian F. Wakefield Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mark S. Harvey, 2017.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.