Finding aid created by: --
Date: Oct 1966
|8 Jul 2008||converted to EAD (MRC)|
Overview of the Collection
|Creator:||Vogel, Herbert Davis, 1900-|
|Title:||Herbert D. Vogel Papers|
|Quantity:||1.0 linear feet|
|Abstract:||An engineer and brigadier general, Vogel was director of the Tennessee Valley Authority and engineer adviser to the World Bank. Additional material is in the Historical Section of the Army Corps of Engineers in Washington, D.C. Collection includes correspondence, subject file, manuscripts, and published material, primarily about his personal life.|
|Repository:||Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
Herbert D. Vogel (1900-1984) was an American engineer. Born in Chelsea, Michigan, he studied civil engineering, served with the Army Corps of Engineers for more than thirty years, and became one of the world's foremost experts on hydraulic engineering. Vogel was involved in waterway projects across the United States and abroad, and wrote numerous articles and papers on water and soil conservation, river and harbor engineering, hydraulic models, inland navigation, and other challenges of his chosen field.
Among many other awards, he received the Distinguished Honorary Graduate Award of the U.S. Army Engineering School, the Colon Alfaro Medal, Knight of the Grand Cross (Thailand), Distinguished Alumnus Award (University of Michigan), Award for Meritorious Service to the Engineering Profession (1967), and the Liberation and Independence Medals (Philippines). In 1972 he held the George W. Goethals Chair of Military Construction at the Army Engineer School in Fort Belvoir, Virginia. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1977 and was a fellow of the American Consulting Engineers Council, and he was an honorary member of the Public Works Historical Society, the Society of American Military Engineers, and the Engineers Club of Pennsylvania.
According to the memorial tribute published by the National Academy of Engineering after his death, Vogel's efforts in "proving and exploiting the validity of hydraulic models...brought about a revolution in engineering concepts." The U.S. Waterways Experiment Station in Vicksburg, Mississippi, which Vogel helped establish and which he served as its first director, became a model for practical hydraulic research and undertook experiments on hundreds of problems for countries all over the world.
|1924||Graduates from West Point; enters U.S. Army as second lieutenant|
|1928||Receives M.S. in civil engineering from the University of California|
|1929||Receives E.D. (doctorate) in hydraulic engineering from Berlin Technical College|
|1929-1934||Establishes U.S. Waterways Experiment Station, Vicksburg, Mississippi, and serves as its first director|
|1933||Receives C.E. from the University of Michigan|
|1941-1945||Serves in South Pacific during World War II|
|1945-1949||District Engineer, Buffalo, New York|
|1949-1950||Engineer of the Panama Canal|
|1950-1952||Lieutenant governor of Canal Zone Government|
|1952-1954||Division Engineer of the Southwest Division of the Army Corps of Engineers|
|1954||Retires from Army|
|1954-1963||Chairman of the Tennessee Valley Authority, appointed by President Eisenhower|
|1963-1967||Engineering Adviser to World Bank|
|1967-1984||Establishes Herbert D. Vogel and Associates, an engineering consulting firm|
[Portions of this biographical sketch excerpted from "Herbert D. Vogel," by Harry E. Bovay; in Memorial Tributes: National Academy of Engineering, Volume 3 (1989), pp. 338-345.]
The Herbert D. Vogel Papers consists of correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, and published material. Material is primarily personal in nature.
Correspondence includes incoming and outgoing correspondence on various topics: congratulations, general, on Vogel's leaving the Tennessee Valley Authority, and on his leaving Knoxville. Subject files includes correspondence, photographs, programs, pamphlets, and two scrapbooks. Manuscripts contains Vogel's manuscripts of articles, speeches, and statements, while Published material contains published articles by Vogel, articles about Vogel, newspaper clippings, and press releases.
Correspondence and subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic. Manuscripts and Published material are arranged alphabetically by type of material.
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Vogel, Herbert Davis, 1900- -- Archives
Canal Zone -- History.
Tennessee Valley Authority -- History.
Hydraulic engineers -- United States.
Water resources development -- United States -- History.
Genres and Forms
Clippings (information artifacts)
Manuscripts (document genre)
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Herbert D. Vogel Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
### (MARC 541 and/or 561)
|Box 1||Congratulatory re Tennessee Valley Authority appointment 1954|
|Box 1||General, A-W|
|Box 1||On leaving Knoxville 1963|
|Box 1||On leaving Tennessee Valley Authority 1962|
|Box 1||Personal file, Panama Canal Zone|
|Box 1||Personal file, War Department|
|Box 2||Scrapbook 1931-1941|
|Box 2||Scrapbook 1940-1943|
|Box 2||Tennessee Valley Authority|
|Box 2||University of Michigan|
|Box 2||Copies of articles|
|Box 2||Copies of speeches|
|Box 2||Articles about|
|Box 2||Articles by|
|Box 2||Newspaper clippings about|
|Box 2||Press releases|