Collection inventory


Finding Aids

L. E. Vibert Manuscript

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 12 Jan 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Vibert, L. E.
Title: L. E. Vibert Manuscript
Dates: 1897
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Manuscript in French with English translation, about a Cardinal who takes dancing lessons.
Language: French with English translation.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the author of this piece or of the translator. The translation is dated 1897 with no name; the original manuscript is subscribed "L E Vibert" with no date.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The L. E. Vibert Manuscript consists of a four-page manuscript in French entitled "La leçon de maintien," with an accompanying English translation in another hand entitled "The Lesson of Deportment." The substance of the piece is a gentle mockery of a Cardinal who, having railed against dancing when he was an Abbot, is now taking dancing lessons so as to be able to mingle in high society.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Vibert, L. E.

Subjects

Cardinals -- France.
Catholic Church -- Clergy -- Anecdotes.
Catholic Church -- Clergy -- France.
Catholic Church -- Clergy -- Humor.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts (document genre)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

L. E. Vibert Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Manuscripts


Inventory

Manuscripts
SC 722 La leçon de maintien 1897, undated