Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

William Jordan Verbeck Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: circa 1964



Biographical History

William Jordan Verbeck (1904-1965) was an American military officer who retired with the rank of General. His father, Brig. Gen. William Verbeck, was head of The Manlius School, a military academy in Aurora, New York. During World War II General Verbeck was named commander of the 21st Infantry Division and then chief of staff of the 24th Infantry Division, and during the Korean War he was senior advisor to the G3, Republic of Korea Army. He was decorated numerous times, including the Distinguished Service Medal, Silver Star with oak leaf cluster, Legion of Merit with oak leaf cluster, Bronze Star Medal with valor device and two oak leaf clusters, Army Commendation Medal and Purple Heart with oak leaf cluster.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Jordan Verbeck Papers includes manuscripts, printed material, subject files and correspondence. Please see the box listing below for more details.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received minimal processing and remains in original order as received.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Verbeck, William Jordan, 1904-1965.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army -- Officers.
United States. -- Army. -- Infantry Division, 24th.

Subjects

World War, 1939-1945 -- Alaska -- Aleutian Islands.
World War, 1939-1945.

Places

United States -- History, Military.

Genres and Forms

Awards.
Correspondence.
Maps.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Scripts (documents)

Occupations

Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Jordan Verbeck Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of William Jordan Verbeck, 1963.


Table of Contents

Box listing


Inventory