Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Adrian Van Sinderen Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1 Jan 2001

Revision history:
15 Mar 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Van Sinderen, Adrian, 1887-1963.
Title: Adrian Van Sinderen Papers
Dates: 1919-1963
Quantity: 5.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American corporation executive, philanthropist, author. Collection includes manuscript books, essays, and speeches; notebooks. Also, annual reports and other publications of the American Horse Shows Association and the Brooklyn Institute of Arts and Sciences.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Adrian Van Sinderen (1887-1963) was a successful banker, businessman and civic leader. He was also an active traveler, a breeder and shower of ponies, and became well-known as a book collector. A graduate of Yale University (1910), he established Yale's Adrian Van Sinderen Book Collecting Prizes for Sophomores and Seniors in 1957, to encourage students to begin building their book collections.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Adrian Van Sinderen Papers consists of manuscript books, essays, speeches and notebooks, as well as annual reports and other publications of the American Horse Shows Association and the Brooklyn Institute of Arts and Sciences.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Most of the books have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog and search on "gift of adrian van sinderen" to locate these items.


Subject Headings

Persons

Van Sinderen, Adrian, 1887-1963.

Corporate Bodies

American Horse Shows Association.
Brooklyn Institute of Arts and Sciences.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Philanthropists -- United States.
Upper class -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Annual reports.
Essays.
Manuscripts for publication.
Notebooks.

Occupations

Authors.
Philanthropists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Adrian Van Sinderen Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Adrian Van Sinderen, 1964.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.