Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Richard Van Rensselaer Deed

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Van Rensselaer, Richard, 1797-1880.
Title: Richard Van Rensselaer Deed
Dates: 1819
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Deed signed by Van Rensselaer, releasing a parcel of land in Otsego County, New York, to Peter Kemble of New York City.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Van Rensselaers were a wealthy and politically important family of Dutch descent, based in Albany, New York. The family included many state and national politicians. Richard was a graduate of Union College and practiced law in Albany for many years. (See Annals of the Van Rensselaers in the United States, by Rev. Maunsell Van Rensselaer, 1888, p. 168.)


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard Van Rensselaer Deed consists of a deed signed by Van Rensselaer, releasing a parcel of land in Otsego County, New York, to Peter Kemble of New York City. The document was signed, sealed and delivered in the presence of John Van Rensselaer.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Van Rensselaer, Richard, 1797-1880.

Places

New York (State) -- History.
Otsego County (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Deeds.
Legal documents.

Occupations

Lawyers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard Van Rensselaer Deed,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1971.


Table of Contents

Legal documents


Inventory

Legal documents
SC 618 Deed, conveying parcel of land from Richard Van Rensselaer to Peter Kemble 13 Nov 1819