Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Ernst Van Leyden Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 18 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Van Leyden, Ernst, 1892-1969.
Title: Ernst Van Leyden Papers
Dates: 1942-1953
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: European painter and sculptor. Collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, subject files, clippings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ernst Van Leyden (1892-1969) was a European painter and sculptor known for his murals and frescoes, particularly his use of light, and for his work in mixed-media sculpture. Born in Holland, he studied there and in London and Berlin, and worked in various countries around Europe including Italy, Spain, France, Portugal, England, Egypt and the Middle East. He emigrated to the United States in the early years of World War II and spent ten years in California. He died in Paris in 1969.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ernst Van Leyden Papers include correspondence, manuscripts, subject files, and clippings.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Van Leyden, Ernst, 1892-1969.

Subjects

Muralists -- United States.
Painters -- United States.
Sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Artists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ernst Van Leyden Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ernst Van Leyden, 1964.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.