Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Allen P. Vandewater Diaries

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Revision history:
26 Mar 2009 converted to EAD (AM)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Vandewater, Allen P.
Title: Allen P. Vandewater Diaries
Dates: 1833-1839
Quantity: 2 v. (SC)
Abstract: Journals kept aboard the U.S.S. Delaware and the U.S.S. Dolphin during tours of the Mediterranean, West Africa, and South America, including drawings and watercolors.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Allen P. Vandewater was a crewman aboard the U.S.S. Delaware and U.S.S. Dolphin. Little is known about Vandewater, but he kept detailed notes about the happenings of these cruises, including the weather, stopovers, visits to islands and deaths or injuries of crewmembers. He also made sketches and watercolors of various ports-of-call.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Allen P. Vandewater Diaries are made up of two bound journals. The first journal follows the U.S.S. Delaware (dated 1833-1836) to Alexandria, Turkey, Mahon, Malta, Gibralter and others. It includes sketches of the Delaware and watercolors of various country and ship flags. The second chronicles the cruises of the U.S.S. Dolphin dated 1836-1839; it details cruises to Madeira, the African coast and the coast of South America. Drawings include watercolors of the islands of Madeira and Tenerife, and the Dolphin off "the Savage Island;" also sketches of Sierra Leone.


Arrangement of the Collection

Diaries are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Vandewater, Allen P.

Corporate Bodies

Delaware (Ship of the line)
Dolphin (Brig)
United States -- Navy -- History.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.
Drawings.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Allen P. Vandewater Diaries,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Diaries


Inventory

Diaries
SC 300 1833-1836 (1 volume)
SC 300 1836-1839 (1 volume)