Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Martin Van Buren Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Van Buren, Martin, 1782-1862.
Title: Martin Van Buren Collection
Dates: 1832-1840
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: President of the United States, 1837-1841. Collection contains two land grants and a handwritten letter, all with Van Buren's signature.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Martin Van Buren (1782-1862) was an American attorney and politician. He was Andrew Jackson's vice president from 1833 to 1837, and succeeded him as the 8th President of the United States (1837-1841). He was the first president to be born a citizen of the United States.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Martin Van Buren Collection consists of three items in his hand and/or bearing his signature. The two land grants award a total of 264.32 acres to Rittenhouse Nutt of Jefferson County, Mississippi. The letter, written from Owasco, New York on 26 Sep 1832, is to T. W. Olcott of Albany, New York.


Arrangement of the Collection

None.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Van Buren, Martin, 1782-1862.

Subjects

Land grants -- Mississippi.
Presidents -- United States.

Places

Mississippi -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Land grants.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Martin Van Buren Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1970.


Table of Contents

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Miscellaneous
SC 616 Land grants, letter 1832, 1840