Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James Lyman Van Buren Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Van Buren, James Lyman.
Title: James Lyman Van Buren Collection
Dates: 1854-1965
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: American Civil War general. Collection contains correspondence and memorabilia.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Lyman Van Buren (1837-1866) was a cousin of President Martin Van Buren and an officer in the Union Army during the American Civil War. He entered the military as a lieutenant of New York volunteers, and served as judge-advocate on the staff of General Burnside and as military secretary to Governor Edward Stanly.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James Lyman Van Buren Collection consists of correspondence and memorabilia.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Van Buren, James Lyman.

Subjects

Generals -- United States -- History -- 19th century.
Lawyers, Military.

Places

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Lyman Van Buren Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1971.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.