Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Evert Van Allen Field Book

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Jul 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Van Allen, Evert.
Title: Evert Van Allen Field Book
Dates: 1795
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Survey for tract of land known as "Penet's Square," near the St. Lawrence River and French Creek.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Evert Van Allen (1772-1854) was taught surveying by his uncle, John E. Van Allen, and created a number of early maps of New York State. He was the city engineer for Albany and made a number of historically important Albany city maps. The name is also sometimes spelled "Van Alen."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Evert Van Allen Field Book consists of a notebook of approximateley 35 pages describing a survey of a ten-square-mile area in what is today Jefferson County, New York. The land was known as "Penet's Square" after Peter Penet, a French adventurer to whom the land was deeded by the Oneida as part of the Treaty of 1788. The field book contains detailed measurements, descriptions of placement of chains and stakes, and descriptions of local landmarks.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Penet, Peter, -1789.
Van Allen, Evert.

Subjects

Surveyors -- New York (State)

Places

Jefferson County (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Surveys (documents)

Occupations

Surveyors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Evert Van Allen Field Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Puchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Surveys


Inventory

Surveys
SC 751 Field book, survey of Penet's Square 1795