Collection inventory


Finding Aids

E. R. Vadeboncoeur Dispatches

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Vadeboncoeur, E. R.
Title: E. R. Vadeboncoeur Dispatches
Dates: 1944
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Dispatches from the Pacific Theatre of World War II, by Syracuse-area journalist and war correspondent E. R. "Curly" Vadeboncoeur.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

E. R. "Curly" Vadeboncoeur was an American radio and television journalist. He began his career as a writer for the Syracuse Journal, but soon switched over to broadcasting and joined WSYR Radio in Syracuse, then owned by Newhouse Broadcasting. During World War II, he traveled to the Pacific for a month as a war correspondent for WSYR/NBC; according to the Syracuse Press Club, "[h]e is believed to be the only war correspondent accredited personally by Gen. Douglas MacArthur." Vadeboncoeur eventually became the General Manager of WSYR radio and television station operations, and was actively involved in the expansion of Newhouse Broadcasting's holdings in states ranging from Pennsylvania to Oregon. He was inducted into the New York State Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame, and was known as the "dean of Syracuse newsmen."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The E. R. Vadeboncoeur Dispatches consists of twelve of Vadeboncoeur's dispatches, all from May of 1944. The dispatches were sent from various sites in the Southwest Pacific, among them the headquarter of General Douglas C. MacArthur. Topics of the reports include accounts of amphibious landings, accompanying pilots on combat and bomber missions, and a lengthy visit with MacArthur himself.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

MacArthur, Douglas, 1880-1964.
Vadeboncoeur, E. R.

Corporate Bodies

National Broadcasting Company.
WSYR (Radio station : Syracuse, N.Y.)

Subjects

War correspondents -- United States.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Campaigns -- Pacific Area.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Journalists.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Personal narratives.

Genres and Forms

Dispatches.
News bulletins.

Occupations

Journalists.
War correspondents.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

E. R. Vadeboncoeur Dispatches,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2011.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 668 Dispatches May 1944