Collection inventory


Finding Aids

United States Army Quartermaster Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 12 Mar 2007

Revision history:
17 Mar 2009 converted to EAD (AM)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: United States. Army. Quartermaster’s Dept.
Title: United States Army Quartermaster Records
Dates: 1862-1864
Quantity: 104 items (SC)
Abstract: Inventories, requisitions, invoices, and other documents from the US Quartermaster's Dept. These records were written during the Civil War and primarily consist of materials requested or released by US Army Quartermaster Perley P. Pitkin.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The United States Army Quartermaster Department (1775-present, reorganized and known from 1912 on as the Quartermaster Corps) is responsible for the transportation of supplies to the Army. During the Civil War, the Quartermaster Dept. supplied the Union Army with ordinance, horses, food, personnel and other necessities by railway, wagon and ironclad river boats. The Battle of Harper's Ferry centered around the capture of the Union supply camp in September 1862 by the Confederate Army (led by Maj. General Thomas J. "Stonewall" Jackson). Harper's Ferry was later retaken by the Union army.

Perley P. Pitkin served as chief depot quartermaster for the Union Army at Harper's Ferry after the battle, and at other supply stations later on such as Belle Plain and Brandy Station.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The United States Army Quartermaster Records consists of requisition forms, lists of stores received, lists of requisitioned private and public property, from various supply posts under the command of P. P. Pitkin and others during the Civil War.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

United States. Army. Quartermaster’s Dept.

Places

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Equipment and supplies.
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)
Virginia -- Brandy Station.

Genres and Forms

Public records.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

United States Army Quartermaster Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Forms


Inventory

Forms
SC 297, Folder 1 Oct. - Nov. 1862 (25 items)
SC 297, Folder 2 Mar. - Oct. 1863 (43 items)
SC 297, Folder 3 Feb. - May 1864 (35 items)
SC 297, Folder 4 Undated (1 item)