Collection inventory


Finding Aids

United States Army, 1st Artillery Regiment, Battery I Letter Book

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 2 Aug 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: United States Army. -- Artillery Regiment, 1st. -- Battery I.
Title: United States Army, 1st Artillery Regiment, Battery I Letter Book
Dates: 1870-1874
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Letter book for Battery I of the 1st U.S. Artillery; letters are dated from Fort Wood, New York Harbor; Key West Barracks, Key West, Florida; Camp Dallas, Florida; Camp Whiting, Florida; and possibly other locations.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Battery I of the 1st U.S. Artillery was active during the Civil War, being part of the Army of Northern Virginia. After the war, according to the letter book, it was stationed at Fort Wood in New York Harbor (the area of Fort Wood later became the star-shaped base for the Statue of Liberty). In 1872 it was moved to Key West, Florida. Letters in the first part of the book are signed by Captain Alanson Merwin Randol (1837-1887), a West Point graduate from New York who served with the Army of the Potomac during the Civil War and was later promoted to major (1882). Later in the book, letters are signed by Lt. Edmund K. Russell, Capt. W. M. Maham [?] and, near the end, by a 2d Lt., possibly Jonathan Pope.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The United States Army, 1st Artillery Regiment, Battery I Letter Book consists of one volume of handwritten copies of official communications (letters). The letters concern day-to-day operations, such as transmission of reports and receipts, documentation of promotions or disciplinary matters, payroll issues, and so on. A series of letters in April, 1873 details some matters of friction between Capt. Maham and the Post Commander, Major Best.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Randol, Alanson M., 1837-1887.

Corporate Bodies

United States Army. -- Artillery Regiment, 1st. -- Battery I.

Subjects

Military bases -- Florida.
Military bases -- New York (State)

Places

Fort Wood (N.Y.)
Key West (Fla.)

Genres and Forms

Letter books.

Occupations

Armed forces -- Officers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

United States Army, 1st Artillery Regiment, Battery I Letter Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of James F. Carr, 1969.


Table of Contents

Administrative records


Inventory

Administrative records
SC 555 Letter book 1870-1874