Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Sylvia A. Upson Notebook

An inventory of her item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Revision history:
26 Mar 2009 converted to EAD (AM)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Upson, Sylvia A.
Title: Sylvia A. Upson Notebook
Dates: 1850-1852
Quantity: 1 v. (SC)
Abstract: Notebook of compositions kept while Upson was a student at the Young Ladies Institute, Pittsfield, Massachusetts.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Sylvia Upson was a student at the Young Ladies Institute in Pittsfield, Massachusetts. Little is known about Upson, though there is evidence that she may have married Jerome B. Graham and had a son, William P. Graham, in 1871.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sylvia A. Upson Notebook is a single notebook of compositions dated from 1850-1852. There are a few loose letters and papers inserted throughout. Topics covered include science and the occupation of teaching.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Upson, Sylvia A.

Corporate Bodies

Young Ladies Institute (Pittsfield, Mass.)

Subjects

Women -- Education -- Massachusetts -- Pittsfield.
Women -- Education -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Notebooks.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sylvia A. Upson Notebook
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 299 Compositions 1850-1852