Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Union Library (Shrewsbury, Vt.) Account Book

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Union Library (Shrewsbury, Vt.)
Title: Union Library (Shrewsbury, Vt.) Account Book
Dates: 1824-1854
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Account book of small local library in Shrewsbury, Vermont. Volume includes constitution, bylaws, subscription records, catalog of books, circulation records.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the Shrewsbury Union Library other than what is given in the collection. The Constitution, which fills the first five pages, is dated 1824. It reads, in part:

Know ye that we whose names are hereunto subscribed, being desirous to furnish ourselves with useful instruction, have agreed to form ourselves into a Society for the purpose of establishing a Library to be called & known by the name of the Union Library of Shrewsbury...

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Union Library (Shrewsbury, Vt.) Account Book consists of a single volume, which includes the Constitution and Bylaws of the Library, along with subscription records, circulation records, and a catalog of books, as follows:

The catalog of books encompasses a wide range of classical and contemporary titles, including Pilgrim's Progress, Tristram Shandy, Tales of a Good Woman, Plutarch's Lives, Robinson Crusoe, Ovid's Art of Love, Paley's Philosophy, Shakespeare's plays, Homer's Iliad, and numerous books of travel, biography and history.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Union Library (Shrewsbury, Vt.)

Subjects

Books and reading -- United States -- History -- 19th century.
Libraries -- Vermont -- Catalogs.
Libraries -- Vermont -- History.

Places

Shrewsbury (Vt.) -- Intellectual life.

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Administrative records.

Occupations

Librarians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Union Library (Shrewsbury, Vt.) Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Administrative records


Inventory

Administrative records
SC 586 Library account book 1824-1854