Collection inventory


Finding Aids

University Continuing Education Association (UCEA) Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: University Continuing Education Association.
Title: University Continuing Education Association (UCEA) Records
Dates: 1999-2009
Quantity: 55 linear ft.
Abstract: Subject files, reports, publications, pamphlets, interviews on audiotape, conference proceedings, newsletters, more.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The University Continuing Education Association (UCEA) was originally formed in 1915 as the National University Extension Association (NUEA). NUEA's focus was originally on establishing standards for correspondence schools and distance education, though its scope expanded considerably through the years and when it shifted to a division structure in the 1950s, correspondence study was only one of five charter units. In 1980 NUEA reorganized itself away from the division structure to a more national focus; to reflect this, the name was changed to the National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA). In 1999 the word "National" was dropped as membership had expanded internationally, and the name became University Continuing Education Association (UCEA).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The University Continuing Education Association (UCEA) Records include subject files, reports, publications, pamphlets, interviews on audiotape, conference proceedings, newsletters and more.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA) Records and the National University Extension Association (NUEA) Records.

In addition, Special Collections Research Center has dozens of manuscript collections relating to adult education, both of individuals and organizations. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

University Continuing Education Association.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Teachers, Training of.

Genres and Forms

Audiotapes.
CD-ROMs.
Correspondence.
Electronic mail.
Interviews.
Minutes.
Newsletters.
Oral histories (document genres)
Proceedings.
Reports.
Videotapes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

University Continuing Education Association (UCEA) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of University Continuing Education Association (UCEA), 2001-


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.