Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Television Press Kit Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: –
Date: unknown

Revision history:
21 May 2009 Clavell addition (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Title: Television Press Kit Collection
Dates: 1966-2002 (bulk: 1981-1996)
Quantity: 34 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection contains selected press kits from ABC, CBS, Discovery, Fox, NBC, Saban, WB, and UPN for network programming and from the Television Critics Association and National Cable Forum for cable networks. Some kits also contain photographs and CD-ROMS. Dates of coverage vary.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

A press kit is a prepackaged set of promotional material. In the case of television shows, press kits often include still shots from the show, a page with sketches and brief bios of main characters, a summary of the main themes or aspects of the show, and sample posters, contained in or printed on an illustrated custom folder or packet.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Television Press Kit Collection contains selected press kits for programming for a wide range public, network and cable television stations. Networks represented are ABC, CBS, Discovery, Fox, NBC, PBS, Saban Entertainment, Showtime, Synditel, The WB, and UPN.

Also included are press kits for the Television Critics Association/National Cable Forum, which cover the following cable channels. Not all channels are present for all dates.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided by television station and within that, material is arranged (mostly) alphabetically; in most cases regular television shows come first followed by specials.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of television-related collections. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. For other press kits, see the Movie Press Kit Collection and the Cartoon Press Kit Collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

American Broadcasting Company.
Columbia Broadcasting System, inc.
Discovery Channel (Firm)
National Broadcasting Company.
Public Broadcasting Service (U.S.)
Television Critics Association (U.S.)
Twentieth Century-Fox Television, Inc.

Subjects

Television -- United States -- Marketing.
Television -- United States -- Public relations.

Genres and Forms

Press kits.

Occupations

Advertisers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Television Press Kit Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Some press kits gift of Steven H. Scheuer.


Table of Contents

ABC

CBS

CNN

Discovery Communications, Inc.

FOX

HBO

MTV

NBC

PAX

PBS

Saban Entertainment

Showtime

Television Critics Association/National Cable Forum

The WB Television Network

UPN

Miscellaneous


Inventory

ABC
Box 1 Network programming 1966/67
Box 1 Network programming 1981/82
Box 1 Network programming 1982/83
Box 2 Network programming 1984/85
Box 2 Network programming 1986/87
Box 3 Network programming 1990/91
Box 4 Network programming 1995/96
Box 5 Network programming 1997-1999
Box 6 Network programming 2000-2002
CBS
Box 7 Network programming 1974/75
Box 7 Network programming 1978/79
Box 7 Network programming 1979/80
Box 8 Network programming 1981/82
Box 8 Network programming 1982/83
Box 8 Network programming 1983/84
Box 9 Network programming 1984/85
Box 9 Network programming 1985/86
Box 10 Network programming 1986/87
Box 10 Network programming 1994/95
Box 10 Network programming 1995/96
Box 11 Network programming 1997-2000
Box 12 Network programming 2000-2003
CNN
Box 10 News programming 1985
Discovery Communications, Inc.
includes a CD-Rom with artwork
Box 10 Discovery Channel Cable programming 1995/96
Box 10 The Learning Channel Cable programming 1995/96
FOX
Box 13 Network programming 1994
Box 13 Network programming 1995/96
Box 14 Network programming 1997-1999
Box 15 Network programming 1998-2000
Box 16 Network programming 2000-2002
HBO
Box 17 Cable programming 1995
Box 17 Cable programming 1999-2002
MTV
Box 18 Cable programming 2001
NBC
Box 19 Network programming 1978/79
Box 19 Network programming 1983/84
Box 20 Network programming 1985/86
Box 20 Network programming 1994/95
Box 20 Network programming 1995/96
Box 21 Network programming 1996-1999
Box 22 Network programming 1999-2000
Box 23 Network programming 2001-2002
Box 23 Noble House, James Clavell 1987 - mini-series
PAX
Box 24 Network programming 1999/2000
PBS
Box 24 Public programming Winter/Spring 1988
Box 24 Public programming Pledge Drive March 1988
Box 24A Public programming Winter, 1989
Box 24A Public programming Winter, Fall 1992
Box 24A Public programming Winter/Spring, Summer, Fall 1993
Box 24A Public programming Winter/Spring, Fall 1994
Box 24A Public programming Winter/Spring, Summer, Fall 1995
Box 24A Public programming Winter/Spring, Summer 1996
Box 24 Public programming Fall 1996
Box 24A Public programming Winter/Spring, Summer, Fall 1997
Box 24A Public programming Winter/Spring, Summer 1998
Box 24A Public programming Winter/Spring, Summer, Fall 1999
Box 24A Public programming Winter/Spring, Summer 2000
Box 24 Public programming 1998-2002
Saban Entertainment
Box 25 American television programming 1995/96
Box 25 American television programming 1996/97
Showtime
Box 25 Cable programming 1999-2002
Synditel
Box 25 Programming 1993
Television Critics Association/National Cable Forum
Box 26 Cable programming Networks November, 1984
Box 26 Cable programming Networks June, 1985
Box 26 Cable programming Networks June, 1986
Box 26 Cable programming Networks January 1987
Box 26 Cable programming Networks (Possibly 1995)
Box 26 Cable programming Networks 1996
Box 30 Cable programming Networks 1998-2000
Box 31 Cable programming Networks 2000-2002
The WB Television Network
Box 27 Network programming 1/11/95
Box 27 Primetime and Kids WB July 8, 1996
Box 28 Primetime and Kids WB 1996-1998
Box 32 Primetime and Kids WB 1999-2001
Box 33 Primetime and Kids WB 2001-2002
UPN
Box 29 Network programming 1994
Box 29 Network programming 1995/96
Box 29 Network programming 1996/97
Box 34 Network programming 2000
Miscellaneous
Box 18 Charge accounts 1997
Box 18 Prudential securities 1998-1999
Box 33 Miscellaneous