Finding aid created by: -
Date: 24 May 1966
|12 Mar 2010||converted to EAD (MRC)|
Overview of the Collection
|Creator:||Tromka, Abram, 1896-1954.|
|Title:||Abram Tromka Papers|
|Quantity:||1.0 linear ft.|
|Abstract:||Papers of the Polish-born American Jewish painter, etcher, serigrapher. Also worked under name Abraham Phillips. Collection includes correspondence, exhibition catalogs, photographs of Tromka and his work, published material, including articles and clippings about Tromka.|
|Repository:||Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
Abram Tromka (1896-1954) was a Polish-born American Jewish painter, etcher and serigrapher. He also worked under the name Abraham Phillips.
Born in Poland, Tromka came to the United States at the age of 11 and attended public school in New York City. Although he studied at an early age with Henri and Bellows, Tromka was for the most part self-taught; he worked mostly in oil, gouache, watercolor, serigraphy, drawing and etching. As a youth, he illustrated the book The House on Henry Street by Lillian D. Wald, and his etching entitled "The sweet potato vendor was purchased by the Metropolitan Museum of Art when he was only nineteen.
Tromka's work has been exhibited in museums in the United States and in Central and South America, and is in the permanent collections of several important museums, including the Biro Bidjan Museum in the former Soviet Union.
The Abram Tromka Papers consists of correspondence, subject files, manuscripts (both of Tromka and of others) and published material (clippings, press releases, exhibition catalogs).
Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically; outgoing is arranged chronologically. The remaining series are arranged alphabetically.
Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Evergood, Philip, 1901-1973.
Tromka, Abram, 1896-1954.
House on Henry Street.
Art, American -- 20th century.
Etchers -- United States.
Jewish artists -- United States.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Serigraphers -- United States.
Genres and Forms
Clippings (information artifacts)
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Abram Tromka Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Gift of Ann Tromka, 1964.
|Box 1||A - N, miscellaneous|
|Box 1||Brooklyn Museum 1934, 1945, 1946, 1952|
|Box 1||Carnegie Institute 1941, 1944-1945|
|Box 1||Ellis, Havelock undated|
|Box 1||1952, undated|
|Box 1||Tromka, Ann 1961|
|Box 1||Art and artists|
|Box 1||Photographs of Tromka|
|Box 1||Photographs of Tromka's work|
|Box 1||Journal of southern trip|
|Box 1||"Abram Tromka" / Dr. Isaac Klcomok|
|Box 1||"Foreword to catalogue for Tromka exhibition" / Herman Baron 1956|
|Box 1||"Foreword for Catalogue" / Philip Evergood 1961|
|Box 1||Articles about Tromka|
|Box 1||Book, The House on Henry Street by L. Wald, illustrated by A. Phillips (Tromka)|
|Box 1||Exhibitions, one-man shows|
|Box 2||Exhibitions, with others|
|Box 2||Newspaper clippings about Tromka|
|Box 2||Newspaper clippings by Tromka|
|Box 2||Press releases|
|Box 2||Reproductions of Tromka's work|