Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Samuel Treat Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Jul 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Treat, Samuel, 1815-1902.
Title: Samuel Treat Correspondence
Dates: 1839
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters of the American jurist and founder of Washington University and its law school. "A rich and amusing description of life and adventures in the Genesee Valley in the late 1830's, and a good character sketch of its author."
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Samuel Treat (1815-1902) was an American jurist specializing in Admiralty Law. Born in New Hampshire, he received his degree from Harvard in 1837 and taught for several years in Massachusetts and New York. He served as head of Temple Hill Academy in Geneseo, New York, and as a founder of Washington University and its law school.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Samuel Treat Correspondence consists of letters from Treat to a Harvard classmate, Henry Vose. In them, Treat discusses the central New York region, the practice of law, and his personal life, among other things. Described in the dealer catalog as "A rich and amusing description of life and adventures in the Genesee Valley in the late 1830's, and a good character sketch of its author."


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Treat, Samuel, 1815-1902.
Vose, Henry, 1802-1837.

Subjects

Lawyers -- United States.

Places

Geneseo (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Lawyers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Samuel Treat Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 750 Vose, Henry 1839