Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Travel Journal

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Aug 2014

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Travel Journal
Dates: 1817
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Diary of a trip through central New York; medical recipes and formulas.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the author of this small volume. He may have been a medical man, since the latter half of the book contains numerous medical formulas and "receipts."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Travel Journal describes a journey through portions of Herkimer, Oneida, Cayuga, and Onondaga counties (39 pages), concluding with an extensive section of medical receipts (84 pages). The signature of Daniel C. Van Tine appears


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Medical care -- United States -- 19th century.
Medicine -- Formulae, receipts, prescriptions.
Travel -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State) -- Travel and description.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.
Recipes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Travel Journal,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2014.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
Travel journal 1817