Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Travel Diary

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 12 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Travel Diary
Dates: 1821
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Anonymous diary describing a trip via steamship from Philadelphia to Prince Edward Island.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The writer of the diary is unknown.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Travel Diary consists of a 33-page handwritten document describing a trip via steamship from Philadelphia to Prince Edward Island. The journey lasted from June 18 to July 1821, and the unknown writer describes the stops along the way, including New York City, Boston, and Halifax.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Steamboats -- Atlantic Coast (U.S.)

Places

Atlantic Coast (U.S.) -- Description and travel.
Boston (Mass.) -- Description and travel.
Halifax (N.S.) -- Description and travel.
New York (N.Y.) -- Description and travel.
Prince Edward Island -- Description and travel.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Travel Diary,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Diaries


Inventory

Diaries
SC 487 1821