Collection inventory


Finding Aids

S. DeLancey Townsend Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 20 Mar 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Townsend, S. DeLancey.
Title: S. DeLancey Townsend Letters
Dates: 1895-1896
Quantity: 10 items (SC)
Abstract: Letters from the Episcopal bishops regretfully refusing to participate in a projected Association of Promoting the Interest of Church Schools, Colleges, and Seminaries.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

S. DeLancey Townsend (fl. 1895-1927) was an American Episcopalian minister during the early 20th century. There is record of Townsend working as the rector of All Angels' Church in New York City (West End Avenue & West 81st Street) between 1896 and 1927; however, he was probably at this institution longer. There is also evidence of a Smith DeLancey Townsend working as a minister in the Episcopal Parish in Walworth County Wisconsin in 1884, but it is unclear if this is the same S. DeLancey Townsend. Townsend appears to have had several degrees including a Doctor of Divinity (D.D.), Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.), and Doctor of Laws (LL.D.).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The S. DeLancey Townsend Letters consists of 10 items of incoming correspondence. Included are letters from Episcopal bishops regretfully refusing to participate in a projected Association of Promoting the Interest of Church Schools, Colleges, and Seminaries.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains one series, Correspondence, which is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.


Subject Headings

Persons

Townsend, S. DeLancey.

Subjects

Church schools.
Episcopal Church -- Clergy.
Episcopalians -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Clergy.

Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 291 [General] 1895-1896