Collection inventory


Finding Aids

George Tibbits Letter

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Aug 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Tibbits, George, 1763-1849.
Title: George Tibbits Letter
Dates: 1822
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from George Tibbits of Troy, New York to Elisha Tibbits of New York City, concerning the purchase of land from the Holland Land Company and from the Seneca Indians
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little can be ascertained about the writer of this letter. He is likely George Tibbits (1763-1849), brother of Elisha Tibbits and husband of Sarah Noise. If so, he was a merchant in the firm of G. & B. Tibbits (the B being his brother Benjamin) in Lansingburgh, New York and very active in local business affairs.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Tibbits Letter consists of a letter from George Tibbits of Troy, New York to Elisha Tibbits of New York City, concerning the purchase of land from the Holland Land Company and from the Seneca Indians. Included in the collection folder are a transcription of the letter and a few pages of background information on Tibbits and the Holland Land Company.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Tibbits, Elisha.
Tibbits, George, 1763-1849.

Corporate Bodies

Holland Land Company.
Seneca Indians -- Land tenure.

Subjects

Land use -- New York (State) -- History -- 19th century.

Places

Troy (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Tibbits Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 758 Miscellaneous