Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Willard Thompson Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: -
Date: Oct 1976

Revision history:
17 May 2006 converted to EAD (MRR)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Thompson, Willard
Title: Willard Thompson Papers
Dates: 1966-1970
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Willard Thompson was an American professor of journalism and Dean of the General Extension Division and Summer Session (1969-1970), later Dean of the Summer School at the University of Minnesota. Papers include correspondence, meeting minutes and agendas, programs, lists and resolutions. The papers reflect Thompson’s role as Public Relations Committee Chairman for the Galaxy Conference (1969) and the subsequent Wingspread Conference (1976). Noteworthy among the correspondents because of his role in both conferences is Alexander N. Charters.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Willard Thompson has been associated with the Department of Journalism at the University of Minnesota and served as the Dean of the General Extension Division and Summer Session of the University of Minnesota from 1969 to 1970. He is presently (1976) Dean of the Summer School at the same institution.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Willard Thompson Papers concern the Wingspread Conference and the Galaxy Conference, of which he was the Chairman of Public Relations from its conception in 1966 to its realization in December 1969. Headings under which the papers are arranged include the Education Writers Seminar, the Central Planning Group, the Advisory Committee, the Public Relations Committee, and the Wingspread Conference.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In particular, the collections of the following people and organizations are most closely related:

Adult Education Association (AEA)
Council for the Continuing Education Unit (for Wingspread?)
Charters, Alexander N.
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO)
Galaxy Conference
National University Extension Association (NUEA)

Subject Headings

Persons

Charters, Alexander N.
Thompson, Willard L.

Corporate Bodies

Galaxy Conference on Adult Education, Washington, D.C., 1969
Wingspread Conference on Adult Education, Racine, Wis., 1976

Subjects

Adult education
Public relations

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Drafts.
Minutes.
Notes.
Reports.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Willard Thompson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Willard Thompson


Table of Contents

Galaxy Conference

Wingspread Conference


Inventory

The following is a simple BOX LIST. The collection has not yet been processed.

Galaxy Conference
Box 1 Advisory Committee 1969
Box 1 Central Planning Group 1967-1969
General papers
Box 1 1966-1968
Box 1 1969
Box 2 1969-1970, undated
"Imperatives for Action"
Box 2 1969-1970
Box 2 1969-1970
Box 2 Public relations, general 1969
Public Relations Committee
Box 3 1967
Box 3 1968
Box 3 Jan 1969 - Jun 1969
Box 3 Jul 1969 - 1970
Box 3 Miscellaneous undated
Wingspread Conference
Box 4 1969-1970 (4 folders)