Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Dorothy Thompson Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 27 Feb 1992

Revision history:
3 Mar 2011 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Thompson, Dorothy, 1893-1961.
Title: Dorothy Thompson Collection
Dates: circa 1935-1985
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection of material relating to the American journalist. Contains articles by and about Thompson, photographs, correspondence, political cartoon, miscellaneous printed and published material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Dorothy Thompson (1893-1961) was an American broadcast and print journalist, best known for her work as a foreign correspondent and her column "On the Record" that appeared in the New York Herald Tribune from 1936-1941. For a more detailed biography, see the Dorothy Thompson Papers at this repository.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Dorothy Thompson Collection consists of material relating to American journalist Dorothy Thompson, including articles by and about her, photographs, correspondence, political cartoon, miscellaneous printed and published material.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Dorothy Thompson Papers .


Subject Headings

Persons

Thompson, Dorothy, 1893-1961.

Subjects

Journalists -- Family relationships.
Journalists -- United States.
Women authors, American.
Women journalists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Journalists.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Dorothy Thompson Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1991.


Table of Contents


Inventory

The item-level inventory for this collection has not yet been converted to electronic format. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.