Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Clarence H. Thompson Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: -
Date: Oct 1976

Revision history:
15 May 2006 converted to EAD (MRR)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Thompson, Clarence H.
Title: Clarence H. Thompson Papers
Dates: 1965-1973
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Clarence H. Thompson was director of the Evening Liberal Arts Program, Assistant Dean of University College and Dean of University College at Northwestern University. He served on the board of the Association of University Evening Colleges, and was its president from 1969 to 1970. He also served as the President of the Coalition of Adult Education Organizations. Collection contains correspondence and other material concerning the Association of University Evening Colleges, the Coalition of Adult Education Organizations, and the Missouri Valley Adult Education Association
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Clarence H. Thompson has been successively Director of the Evening Liberal Arts program, Assistant Dean of University College, and, since 1972, Dean of University College, Northwestern University. IIe has served on the board of the Association of University Evening Colleges, and was its President from 1969 to 1970. IIe has also served as the President of the Coalition of Adult Education Organizations.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The two boxes of his papers date from 1965 to 1973. They concern the Association of University Evening Colleges' regional and national affairs from 1966 to 1972; the Coalition of Adult Education Organizations' from 1971 to 1973; the Missouri Valley Adult Education Association's from 1967 to 1973; and Thompson's own writings between 1963 and 1973.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Most closely related are the following:


Subject Headings

Persons

Thompson, Clarence H.

Corporate Bodies

Association of University Evening Colleges (U.S.)
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations.
Missouri Valley Adult Education Association.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Educators -- United States.
Evening and continuation schools -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Clarence H. Thompson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC)

Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO)

Missouri Valley Adult Education Association

Writings


Inventory

Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC)
Box 1 Annual Convention, Des Moines 1971-1972 - correspondence and printed material
Box 1 Committees 1970 - correspondence
Box 1 Executive Committee 1970 - correspondence
Box 2 Montreal Meeting Nov 1970 - correspondence and printed material
Box 2 Region X 1966-1970 - correspondence and printed material
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO)
Box 2 Correspondence and printed material 1971-1973
Missouri Valley Adult Education Association
Box 2 Correspondence 1967-1973
Writings
Box 2 Various 1965-1973