Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Thomas Y. Crowell Publishers Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MK
Date: 24 Feb 1978

Revision history:
20 Aug 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Thomas Y. Crowell, Publishers.
Title: Thomas Y. Crowell Publishers Records
Dates: 1926-1963
Quantity: 11.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American publishing firm, established 1834. Correspondence with authors, agents, and other publishing firms.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Thomas Y. Crowell Publishers was founded by Thomas Y. Crowell in 1834. The company began publishing books in 1876. The company was owned and operated by the Crowell family until 1968, when it was bought by Dun & Bradstreet; in 1978 ownership passed to Harper & Row.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas Y. Crowell Publishers Records are composed mainly of correspondence with authors, agents, other publishing firms and interested persons.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the records of many other publishers large and small. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Thomas Y. Crowell, Publishers, Archives.

Subjects

Authors and publishers.
Publishers and publishing -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Publishers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas Y. Crowell Publishers Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

General subject files


Inventory

General subject files
Box 1 A
Agents
Box 1 Brandt and Brandt
Box 1 Brown Limited (2 folders)
Box 1 Farquarson, Rose
Box 1 McIntosh-McKee
Box 1 McIntosh-Otis
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Box 1 Ober, Harold
Box 1 Russel and Volkening, Inc.
Box 1 Watt, A.P. and Son
Box 1 Wing, Willis K.
Box 1 Adams, Charlotte
Box 1 Adams, Mildred
Box 1 Addison, Move
Box 1 Alexander, Lloyd
Box 1 Allen, Robert and Virginia
Box 1 Alter, Dinsmore Dr.
Box 1 Ambassador Books Inc.
Box 1 American Airlines
Box 1 American Book Publishing Council (4 folders)
Box 1 American Commonwealth Series
Box 2 American Library Association
Box 2 "American Myths, Old and New"
Box 2 American Shakespeare Handbook
Box 2 American Textbook Publishers
Box 2 Anthony Evelyn
Box 2 Apollo Books
Box 2 Applications
Box 2 Archives List
Box 2 Astronomy
Box 2 Atkinson, Brooks
Box 2 Audubon
Authors
Box 2 Advances Paid
Box 2 Advances to be Recovered
Box 2 B (2 folders)
Box 2 Baker, John H.
Box 2 Balridge, Letitia
Box 2 Baly, A. Dennis
Box 2 Barley, Rex
Box 2 Barnard, Ned
Box 2 Barnhart, Clarence L.
Box 2 Benedict, Ruth and Bertram
Box 2 Benet: Reader's Encyclopedia
Box 2 Berlitz, Charles
Box 2 Berrey, Lester V.
Box 2 Bill of Rights
Box 2 Blachly, Fredrick and Oatman, Miriam
Box 2 Bobby Sales Foundation
Box 2 Bogdan, C.
Box 2 Bookbinders Restaurant
Box 2 Book Clubs
Box 2 Book Rejections Handled Thru RLC
Box 2 Book stories
Box 2 Bostick, William A.
Box 2 Bower, William W.
Box 2 Braidwood, Linda and Robert
Box 2 Branlem, Franklyn
Box 2 Breitenfield, Frederick
Box 2 Brett, G.S.
Box 2 Brinkley, David
Box 2 Brook, Herbert
Box 2 Brumbagh, Robert S.
Box 2 Burton
Box 2 Bush-Brown
Box 2 Butler, Frank
Box 3 Butler, James C.
Box 3 Butler, Paul G.
Box 3 C (2 folders)
Box 3 Cabeen, Richard
Box 3 Calverley, Eleanor
Box 3 Canaday, Ward
Box 3 Capron, Elisabeth
Box 3 Career Institute
Box 3 Carey, A.M.
Box 3 Carrier, Blanch
Box 3 Carruth, Gorton
Box 3 Casano, J. L.
Box 3 Casey, Wm.
Box 3 Caskey, John A.
Box 3 Catalogue
Box 3 Cellini, Altrochi
Box 3 Chaet, Bernard
Box 3 Chamberlain, Samuel
Box 3 Chester Electronics
Box 3 Child Study Association
Box 3 Childs, Thurston
Box 3 Christowe, Stoyan
Box 3 Christmas Books, 1961
Box 3 Cirlot: Dictionary of Symbols
Box 3 Civic Printing Company
Box 3 Clark, Billy C.
Box 3 Clark, C.D.
Box 3 Clark, Dan E., III
Box 3 Clark, R.C.
Box 3 College Correspondence (4 folders)
Box 3 College Entrance Examination Boards
Box 3 College Travelers
Box 3 Collins, A. Frederich
Box 3 Colloquium (2 folders)
Box 3 Colorado Flower Growers Association
Box 3 Complimentary Copies
Box 3 Comstock
Box 3 Congress of International Publishers Association
Box 3 Cook, Leland A.
Box 3 Coover, J.E.
Box 3 Correspondence
Box 3 Cornwall Press
Box 3 Cowdrey, Mary
Box 3 Crosby Muriel
Box 3 Cross and Brown
Box 4 Crowell, Robert L. (5 folders)
Box 4 Crumbaker, Calvin
Box 4 D (2 folders)
Box 4 Daniel, Oliver
Box 4 Darrow, Robert 4
Box 4 Davidson, Robert
Box 4 Davis, B.M.
Box 4 DeCruz, Daniel
Box 4 Dellaquest, A.W.
Box 4 Dictionary of American Slang
Box 4 Directors (3 folders)
Box 4 Ditzen, Lowell R.
Box 4 Dodds, Robert C.
Box 4 Dorems, Edwin
Box 4 Dow, Sterling
Box 4 Downes, Edward O.D.
Box 4 Drug Topics
Box 4 Duggan, John M.
Box 4 Dulles, Foster, Rhea
Box 4 Dunham, Arthur
Box 4 E (2 folders)
Box 4 Eatough, H. Campbell
Box 4 Ebersole, Mark C.
Box 4 Eddy, William, A.
Box 4 Edie, Lionel D.
Box 4 Ehrlich, Eugene
Box 4 Electronic Futures Inc.
Box 4 Eliot, T.D.
Box 4 Elwell, R.F.
Box 4 Emerson
Box 4 Employees
Box 4 Encyclopedia Britannica
Box 4 Evenari, Liselotte
Box 4 F (2 folders)
Box 4 Fadiman, Clifton and Edwin
Box 4 Fairbanks, Henry
Box 4 Fairservis, Walter A.
Box 4 Farrar, Margaret
Box 4 Feffer and Simons, Inc.
Box 5 Ferguson, Marjorie
Box 5 Ferris
Box 5 Field, Hermann H.
Box 5 Fitzhugh, P.K.
Box 5 Flanagan, George
Box 5 Foreign Trade Periodicals
Box 5 Form Letters
Box 5 Forscher, Louise
Box 5 Franklin Publications, Inc.
Box 5 Fraser
Box 5 Freedman, David
Box 5 Fuller, R.J.
Box 5 G (2 folders)
Box 5 Gallo, Joseph
Box 5 Galloway, George B.
Box 5 Garden City
Box 5 Gerard, James W.
Box 5 Gerwig
Box 5 Geurts
Box 5 Giachetti
Box 5 Gillhoff, Gerd
Box 5 Glick, M.B.
Box 5 Goethals
Box 5 Government Departments
Box 5 Goldstein, Thomas
Box 5 Gray, James
Box 5 Gordon, Lincoln
Box 5 H (2 folders)
Box 5 Hahn
Box 5 Hall, W.S.
Box 5 Handsfield, Leicester H.
Box 5 Hansel, C.E. Mark
Box 5 Heaton, W.C.
Box 6 Heuer, Kenneth
Box 6 Hirsch, Sylvia
Box 6 House Beautiful
Box 6 Howard, John Tasker (2 folders)
Box 6 Howe, Quincy
Box 6 Huang, Su-Shu
Box 6 Human Relations
Box 6 Hunnewell, S.P.
Box 6 Hutchinson
Box 6 Hyne, Virginia
Box 6 I
Box 6 J (2 folders)
Box 6 Jamison, H.L.
Box 6 Johnson, Jotham
Box 6 Jones, Howard Mumford
Box 6 K (2 folders)
Box 6 Keats, Sheila
Box 6 Kelly, Frank K.
Box 6 Kenney, Sylvia W.
Box 6 Ketchum, Phillip
Box 6 Keyes, Langley Carleton
Box 6 Kilpatrick, W.
Box 6 King, Mary Eades
Box 6 King, Paul E.
Box 6 Kingman, Dong
Box 6 Kipling Poems
Box 6 Kritzeck, James
Box 6 L (2 folders)
Box 6 Laidley
Box 6 Lane, Arthur
Box 6 Lear, John
Box 6 Lecomte, Edward
Box 6 Lee
Box 6 Leighton, Claire
Box 3 Leopold, Alice
Box 6 Levy
Box 6 Lewis, Norman
Box 6 Librarians
Box 7 Lichtenwanger, William
Box 7 Link, Eugene P.
Box 7 Lydgate, William
Box 7 Lomax, John A.
Box 7 Love, Edwin M.
Box 7 M (2 folders)
Box 7 Mc-Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 7 McCasland, S. Vernon
Box 7 McCleod, Marian
Box 7 McConnell
Box 7 McCormick
Box 7 McDonald
Box 7 McSpadden
Box 7 Mahoney-Troast Construction Co.
Box 7 Maline, Kemp
Box 7 Mann, Martin
Box 7 Manuscript Record
Box 7 Marckwardt, Albert
Box 7 Marshall, Roy K.
Box 7 Martin, Warren B.
Box 7 Martin, W.B.J.
Box 7 Mayfair Lettershop
Box 7 Meltzer, Milton
Box 7 Mendell, C.W.
Box 7 Meyer, John
Box 7 Mielke, Arthur W.
Box 7 Millis, Walter
Box 7 Miscellaneous (3 folders)
Box 8 Miscellaneous,(4 folders)
Box 8 Mogul, Williams and Saylor, Inc.
Box 8 Moody, Ralph
Box 8 Morehead, Albert
Box 8 Morgan, Arthur E.
Box 8 Morseberger, Robert E.
Box 3 Multiple Sclerosis
Box 8 Munson
Box 8 N (2 folders)
Box 8 Naik, D.B.
Box 8 New Artists
Box 8 New Authors (6 folders)
Box 3 Noyce, Ruth May
Box 8 O
Box 8 Oellrich, Albert
Box 8 Oscar, Ogg
Box 8 P (2 folders)
Box 8 Paine, Gustavus Swift
Box 8 Palmer, Stuart
Box 8 Parr, Charles McKew
Box 8 Personnel
Box 8 Pharr, E.A.
Box 8 Picton, James
Box 8 Pinchot, Gifford
Box 8 Pippin, Frank Johnson
Box 8 Pocket Books, Inc.
Box 8 Pogamy
Box 8 Poole, William M.
Box 8 Pope, Dean Liston
Box 8 Powell, Cyril H.
Box 8 Prospects
Publishers
Box 8 American Misc.
Box 9 English (3 folders)
Box 9 Foreign Miscellaneous
Box 9 Publisher's Lunch Club
Box 9 Publisher's Weekly
Box 9 R (2 folders)
Box 9 Reck, Franklin M.
Box 9 Reck, Michael
Box 9 Reid, Constance
Box 9 Rich, Louise D.
Box 9 Richardson, E.P.
Box 9 Riley, Elisabeth M.
Box 9 Roberts, Patricia Esterbrook
Box 9 Rogers, Francis W.
Box 9 Roget's Thesaurus
Box 9 Roof, Simon
Box 9 Roper, Elmo
Box 9 Rosengrant, John
Box 9 Rowe, Leslie
Box 9 Ryle, John Charles
Box 9 S (2 folders)
Box 9 Salesmen
Box 9 Schuman, William
Box 9 Scott, David
Box 9 Scudder, Muriel Wilton
Box 9 Selby, Carol
Box 9 Shavin and Edwards
Box 9 Shepard, Jean H.
Box 9 Shoup, General
Box 9 Sizoo, Joseph R.
Box 10 Sky and Telescope
Box 10 Sloan, Ruth
Box 10 Smith, Donald L.
Box 10 Smith, Geoffrey Mason
Box 10 Smith, Gertrude Taylor
Box 10 Smith, John E.
Box 10 Sparkes, Brian A.
Box 10 Spinney, Frank O.
Box 10 Sproul, Allan
Box 10 Stamm, Fredrick K.
Box 10 Stanley, Sydnor L.
Box 10 Stechert-Hafner
Box 10 Stokes, Joseph M.
Box 10 Storage
Box 10 Storage at Tyco
Box 10 Struve, Otto
Box 10 Sugrrue, Francis
Box 10 Sussman, Aaron
Box 10 Swan, Arthur
Box 3 Swanfeldt, Andrew
Box 10 T (2 folders)
Box 10 Terres, John K.
Box 10 Tillett, Paul
Box 10 Tolles, Frederick B.
Box 10 Tourtellot, Arthur
Box 10 Tripp, Rhoda
Box 10 Trueblood, Ted
Box 10 Tyco Shipping Service, Inc.
Box 10 U (2 folders)
Box 10 United States Department of State
Box 10 Upton, Albert
Box 10 V (2 folders)
Box 10 Van den Berghe, Louis
Box 10 Van der Spuy, Kenneth
Box 10 W (2 folders)
Box 10 Waite, William
Box 10 Wall Street Journal
Box 10 Walters, John
Box 10 Walters, Morgan
Box 10 Wertenbaker, G.B.
Box 10 Wertenbaker, Winston
Box 10 Western Union
Box 10 Widgery, Alban
Box 10 White
Box 11 Wikstrom, Curt
Box 11 Williams, Clayton R.
Box 11 Wilson, Thomas W.
Box 11 Wirt, Sherwood Eliot
Box 11 World Education
Box 11 Writers' Conference
Box 11 Wrong, Dennis H.
Box 11 X-Y-Z
Box 11 Yale Professors
Box 11 Young, William C.
Box 11 Zuver, Dudley