Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William Makepeace Thackeray Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Dec 1996

Revision history:
13 May 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Title: William Makepeace Thackeray Letter
Dates: 24 Dec 1852
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: One letter from the English novelist, writing from Boston to "Neighbor Barlow" in Kensington, about his success in the New World.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Makepeace Thackeray (1811-1863) was an English novelist, known for his social satire and parody. Well known works by Thackeray include Vanity Fair, Pendennis and The Virginians.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Makepeace Thackeray Letter consists of one letter from the English novelist, writing from Boston to "Neighbor Barlow" in Kensington, about his success in the New World.

The letter sends holiday greetings, and Thackeray writes of the financial success of his venture to America: "I am making and keeping a great deal of money (1500 £ say in 6 weeks and plenty more in prospect)." He encloses money for Barlow, with the hope of securing assistance for "a few people at Kensington to buy beef and coals."

Describing his reception by Americans, Thackeray writes:

The kindness I meet with here is such as to take me quite aback. I have had the pleasantest time, made the most delightful friends, shall leave behind me and carry away with me the kindest feelings please God -- and if I say a word buy of peace and friendship between the two countries, may I choke over the dinner these generous folks give me and mine!

Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the William Makepeace Thackeray Drawings.


Subject Headings

Persons

Thackeray, William Makepeace, 1811-1863.

Subjects

Novelists, English -- 19th century -- Correspondence.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Makepeace Thackeray Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of George and Lena Arents, 1973.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 137 Barlow ("Neighbor Barlow") 24 Dec 1852