Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Alfred Tennyson Collection

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Dec 1996

Revision history:
19 Mar 2009 converted to EAD (LDC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Tennyson, Alfred Tennyson, Baron, 1809-1892.
Title: Alfred Tennyson Collection
Dates: 1852-1875
Quantity: 10 items (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the British poet. Includes six outgoing items of correspondence, one of which is addressed to Tennyson's aunt by marriage, Lady Jane Franklin, while three others are to Sophie Cracroft, all concerning family matters.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Alfred Tennyson (1809-1892) was a British poet who served as Poet Laureate of the United Kingdom from 1850-1892. Notable works include In Memoriam (1850), The Charge of the Light Brigade (1854), and Idylls of the King (1859).

Selected Poems

1830 "The Kraken"
1833 Ulysses
1842 (ca.) Break, Break, Break
1847 Tears, Idle Tears
1850 In Memoriam
1851 "The Eagle"
1854 The Charge of the Light Brigade
1859 Idylls of the King
1889 Crossing the Bar

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Alfred Tennyson Collection comprises 8 items of correspondence and two portraits of the English poet (1809-1892). The earliest letter, addressed to Lady Jane Franklin, wife of explorer John Franklin, invites Tennyson's aunt by marriage to the christening of his son. Three other letters addressed to Sophia Cracroft, companion of Lady Franklin, discuss the health of Tennyson's wife Emily, the couple's inability to accept Lady Franklin's offer of a house, and Sophy's kindness in sending the Tennysons two remembrances of Lady Franklin following her death. A letter (20 Apr 1867) to an unspecified correspondent grants permission to use extracts from some Tennyson poems, noting however that "In Memoriam is an anonymous work not to be meddled with."


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains two series: Correspondence and Portraits. The correspondence is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Cracroft, Sophia, 1816-1892.
Franklin, Jane, 1791-1875.
Tennyson family.
Tennyson, Alfred Tennyson, Baron, 1809-1892.
Tennyson, Emily Sellwood Tennyson, Baroness, 1813-1896.

Subjects

Poets, English -- 19th century.
Poets, English -- Family relationships.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Alfred Tennyson Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Portraits


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 65 20 Sep 1852 Jane Griffith Franklin ("Dear Lady Franklin")
SC 65 20 Apr 1867 "Madam"
SC 65 08 Jul 1874 "Sir"
SC 65 22 Oct 1874 Sophia Cracroft ("My dear Sophy")
SC 65 10 Nov 1874 Sophia Cracroft ("My dear Sophy")
SC 65 16 Dec 1875 Sophia Cracroft ("My dear Sophy")
SC 65 30 Apr 1876 "Dear Sir"
SC 65 11 Apr 1885 Leonard Hess - Tennyson's response through unnamed third party
Portraits
SC 65 Engraving
SC 65 Photograph - Elliott & Fry