Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Temperance Society (Tyre, N.Y.) Minute Book

An inventory of the item(s) at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 18 Mar 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Temperance Society (Tyre, N.Y.)
Title: Temperance Society (Tyre, N.Y.) Minute Book
Dates: 1841-1844
Quantity: 1 vol. (SC)
Abstract: Minutes and roster of a Seneca County temperance group.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Temperance Societies were formed during the early to mid-19th century as a means of combating alcoholism. These organizations aimed to restrict the traffic of liquor, arguing that the best way to fight alcoholism was to eliminate consumption entirely.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Temperance Society (Tyre, N.Y.) Minute Book consists of a single bound volume of minutes from the Temperance Society of the town of Tyre (Seneca County). The volume is dated 1841-1844 and is 89 pages in length.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Temperance -- New York (State) -- Tyre.
Temperance -- Societies, etc.

Places

Tyre (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Minute books.
Minutes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Temperance Society (Tyre, N.Y.) Minute Book
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Business records


Inventory

Business records
SC 290 Minute book 1841-1844 (89 pages)