Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jean Target Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 7 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Target, Jean
Title: Jean Target Collection
Dates: 1954
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Assortment of material related to the French painter, including one handwritten and signed letter from him.
Language: French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jean Target (dates unknown) was a French painter known for his depictions of dancers.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jean Target Collection consists of several photographs of sculptures, a small exhibition catalog without photographs, and a handwritten signed letter from Target to "Chere Madame." It is unclear whether the sculptures were done by Target, or by someone else perhaps based on his drawings.


Arrangement of the Collection

None.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a substantial number of manuscript collections containing the papers sculptors and other artists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Target, Jean.

Subjects

Dancers in art.
Figure sculpture, French -- 20th century.
Painters -- France -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Painters.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jean Target Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1981.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 608 Miscellanea 1954, undated - photographs, one letter, exhibit catalog