Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Lewis Tappan Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Tappan, Lewis, 1788-1873.
Title: Lewis Tappan Letter
Dates: 1844
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter to C.P. (or G.P.) Williams, requesting information on behalf of Sir James Ross, about the area known as Cape Circoncision in the Antarctic.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lewis Tappan (1788-1873) was an American abolitionist. He was the brother of Ohio Senator Benjamin Tappan and abolitionist Arthur Tappan. Sir James Ross (1800-1862) was a British naval officer and explorer.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lewis Tappan Letter consists of a letter from Tappan to C.P. (or G.P.) Williams, requesting information on behalf of Sir James Ross, about the region known as Cape Circoncision. The area is a peninsula on the north-western edge of Bouvet Island in the South Atlantic. The letter asks Williams to survey his ship's captains to see if they have any relevant information on the region for use in Ross' forthcoming book on his South Polar voyage.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Arthur Tappan Letter for correspondence of his brother.


Subject Headings

Persons

Tappan, Lewis, 1788-1873.

Subjects

Antarctic -- Discovery and exploration.
Polar regions -- Discovery and exploration.

Places

Bouvet Island.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Explorers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lewis Tappan Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 607 Williams, C.P. [or G.P.] 1844