Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Arthur Tappan Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Tappan, Arthur, 1786-1865.
Title: Arthur Tappan Letter
Dates: 1842
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from the American abolitionist to Henry and Thomas Davis of Syracuse, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Arthur Tappan (1786-1865) was an American abolitionist. He was the brother of Ohio Senator Benjamin Tappan and abolitionist Lewis Tappan.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Arthur Tappan Letter consists of a single outgoing letter addressed to Henry and Thomas Davis of Syracuse, New York. The letter concerns financial transactions with someone named Hasbrook.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Lewis Tappan Letter for correspondence of his brother.


Subject Headings

Persons

Tappan, Arthur, 1786-1865.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Arthur Tappan Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1971.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 606 Davis, Henry and Thomas 1842